Guide To Getting Your
North Carolina CCH Permit
1 - The Checklist
To be approved for a CCH permit all of the following must be true:
- You must be a citizen of the United States;
- You must have been a resident of the State of North Carolina for not less than thirty days immediately preceding the filing of the application;
- You must be at least twenty-one years of age;
- You must not suffer from any physical or mental infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun; and
- You must have successfully completed an approved firearms training course (unless specifically exempted from the course by State law).
You may not qualify for a CCH permit if any of the following are true:
From N.C. G.S. 14-415.12(b).
- You are ineligible to possess or receive a firearm under federal or State law;
- You are an unlawful user of or addicted to marijuana, alcohol, or any depressant, stimulant or narcotic drug, or any other controlled substance;
- You have been discharged from the U.S. armed forces under conditions other than honorable;
- You are lacking mental capacity or mentally ill.
- If you are currently or in the past have been involved as an adversary with law enforcement and or the judicial system, you should check the details of disqualifying circumstances.
2 - Successfully Complete A Certified CCH Class
This site has a list of certified CCH instructors. Your county's sheriff's office also has a list of certified instructors.
The certificate does not expire. However, each county sheriff has discretion concerning how long after issuance that a CCH Course Certificate will be accepted. It would be prudent to check with your county sheriff's office about this.
3 - At the Sheriff's Office
Check with your county's sheriff's office for its exact procedure.
- Complete an application, under oath, on a form provided by the sheriff's office;
- Pay a non-refundable fee of $80.00;
- Allow the sheriff's office to take two full sets of fingerprints, which may cost up to $10.00;
- Provide an original certificate of completion of an approved handgun safety course; and
- Provide a release authorizing disclosure to the sheriff of any record concerning the applicant's mental health or capacity.
4 - Wait
The sheriff has forty-five days from the time all application materials, to include receipt of mental health records, are received to either issue or deny a permit.
5 - Good For Five Years
Once the applicant is issued the permit to carry a concealed weapon, he must renew the permit every five years.
In order to renew the permit, the holder must file an application for renewal with the sheriff's office in the county in which he resides at least thirty days prior to the expiration of the original permit. Along with this application, the applicant must also submit to the sheriff, a notarized affidavit stating that he remains qualified.